Friday, January 29, 2016

Patristics Defined

Patristics or patrology is the study of the early Christian writers who are designated Church Fathers. The names derive from the combined forms of Latin pater and Greek patḗr (father). The period is generally considered to run from the end of New Testament times or end of the Apostolic Age (c. AD 100) to either AD 451 (the date of the Council of Chalcedon) or to the 8th century Second Council of Nicaea.

Key Persons

Among those whose writings form the basis for Patristics, (i.e. prominent early Church Fathers), are:

  • Ignatius of Antioch (c. 35-c.108),
  • Pope Clement I (c.1st century AD-c.101),
  • Polycarp of Smyrna (c.69-c.-c.155),
  • Justin Martyr (c.100-c.165),
  • Irenaeus of Lyons (c.120-c.202),
  • Clement of Alexandria (c.150-c.215),
  • Tertullian (c.160-c.225),
  • Origen (c.185-c.254),
  • Cyprian of Carthage (d. 258),
  • Athanasius (c.296-c.373),
  • Gregory of Nazianzus (329-389),
  • Basil of Caesarea (c.330-379),
  • Gregory of Nyssa (c.330-c.395)
  • Theodore of Mopsuestia (c.350-428),
  • Jerome (347-430),
  • Augustine of Hippo (354-430),
  • Vincent of Lérins (d. bef. 450),
  • Cyril of Alexandria (d.444),
  • Maximus the Confessor (580-662)
  • Isaac of Nineveh (d. 700)

No comments:

Post a Comment